Working From Home Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone here a freelance work-from-home transcriptionist that has tips on finding good gigs?

As a beginner I'm curious to know...
  • the categories of transcription work
  • typical requirements for transcriptionists
  • your take on transcribing books, videos, podcasts and audios
  • hours - how flexible are they?
  • training - what training have you done and what do you recommend?
  • experience - what experience is suggested to have?
  • scams - how do I avoid being scammed?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I work as an academic editor, and many of my friends do medical transcription. So that would be one category.

Some places require you to install a desktop and/or a transcription platform or equipment. I'm not sure how this installation would work right now--what with the pandemic and safety guidelines.

Medical transcription: the biggest challenge, as far as I hear, is not being able to understand what is being said. Having to play sequences over and over and having to refer to glossaries as you do so to deduce from context. I guess this might still hold for other types of transcribing jobs.

Hours - Depends on turn around times and how flexible your project managers are in terms of accommodating deadline extensions. I don't have much leeway here as an editor. My friends say it's a bit of a mixed bag.

Finally, one requires very good writing and editing skills. This is a big factor in terms of deciding your hourly rates. Some people disagree, but having a background in editing helps IMO.

That said, I might prefer editing jobs (as opposed to transcription jobs) if my writing and editing skills are really good. It's a tad easier since you only have to work with manuscripts (as opposed to listening). So if something is illegible, it's easier to flag, easier to address with a comment.